Road Trip To Western Province |Mongu

MonguRelax

MonguRelax

“It’s gonna be an experience!” I told myself. pumping positive thoughts in my head despite not knowing anyone in the district, not knowing the local language, Lozi and not really knowing what my mission is personally when I get there.

I boarded the first bus to Mongu at 8 in the morning with no idea what I’ll do or meet when I get to the Lozi land.

Our Expectation
– Considering all the political fuels all over the media about the place at least in the past months…
What am I saying?
Let’s skip this…

My Experience
– I arrived in Mongu in the late hours of the afternoon on Wednesday, famished and exhausted.
…I starved myself on the ‘Long Butt-Aching Journey’ … I did this to not focus on myself but somehow pay attention to what people will say, what will happen around me and what the place is all about.

I saw a lot of things along the way, May I may go back a few experiences…
The road to the West strikes through the Kafue National park somewhere, somehow, I don’t know. I could see the fallen trees all over the green spaces on both sides of the road.
I believed that one of those “Big Fives” had been present there to rub off an itchy spot.

We came across a couple of sad sights, accidents and unfortunate delaying experiences for others and so much for that I bless the many that go through harsh times in life…
May God always see you through it all.

If you hate reading long stories, I am sorry but I gotta do this…
…Now, to where I was…

I took a stroll around the sandy streets of Mongu to the town shortly after my arrival, though starving, parched and weak in defence I carried on, on to talk to the first person in Mongu, A lady(I just said ‘Hi!’)… I won’t add more.. #HidesFace

I located a Lodge and felt straight at home(Apart from the Air Con, personal TV, fridge and coffee maker). I tried to locate Shoprite, which so happened to be an hour away from my residence, only to find it closed. Then another hour to my home. Found a take away spot and stuffed myself to “Quit”.
… I learnt patience doesn’t pay so much at times and is quite painful and is as hunger at times.

I met a couple people through the contacts at the lodge and found out that most people here know an average minimum of four (4) languages; Chinyanja, Chibemba, Lozi and English.
– So it is true that these people are quite economical and love experience and to learn.
…Saying enough with small words that mean it all and have time to understand and create communication with others.
Brave beings these people are that love their culture, land and most especially their language.
Peace to the West.

It is said, “For every bad, there is a ton of good.”
…Well, true.
All the bad press this region has had, within personal suggest is strongly all about the above the average “Mongu’ian”(Lozis)!
It is almost like some people somewhere above the rest(At least so they think) show a strength of a purpose for all but not so really, like again the benefit is above reach for others… What I am saying is…
These people are peaceful people and love traditional hangouts and working hard. So whatever happens would matter less, to the least as long as they still do what they do.

You can’t come across any person(at least I didn’t) who is actually about destructive unity… Hah! Don’t ask what I mean.

The plains are wonderful, More photographers should capture the place and More people should Getaway to Mongu even when not during the Kuomboka Ceremony.
It will be memorable for you.

I dipped my feet in the Zambezi river for a moment or two to have a feel from this end. Many didn’t even mind or to say care of my presence… Like just minding their business, bathing, washing, fishing and what not. And the bathing part is so… Well, let’s just say about, ah… unity!

I liked the Findeco House, Mongu though… It is not “Neck Stretching” as the nation renowned version in Lusaka. You should also see the Investrust Bank Branch in Mongu, Shiny & Classy.

I talk too much…
…So I have got into my head that Mongu is the place to be, with a friend or alone to capture moments(with pigs in the background even if can and love humour) even not during the Kuomboka Ceremony for a getaway, go dip your feet in the Zambezi waters, take a bite on roasted Cassava and washing it down with a 2litre Soda and all in all just relax. People here love their friends, making new ones and being someone else’s friend, minding their business working hard, looking good simply and knowing their strengths.

#ANewChapter , #TravelZambia , #Mongu .

Visit Mongu.

I am not a photographer

I am not a photographer

Be free…- Ongani
http://www.twitter.com/onganibanda

Leave a comment